LIVE35 verified products · 11 suppliers · UK & Australia

Plan your deck. Compare materials.
Estimate costs. Find suppliers.

Calculators that show their working, decking specs taken from manufacturer pages with the date we checked, and suppliers nobody pays to be listed with.

35verified products
11suppliers checked
6calculators
35guides & comparisons
2markets: UK and Australia
How it works

From measurements to an order list

  1. 1

    Count what you need

    Enter deck size, board size, gap and joist centres. You get boards with waste, joists, clips and a lineal metre total, with the formula shown.

    Decking calculator →
  2. 2

    Compare on published facts

    Sizes, joist centres, warranty years and slip or fire statements, each from a maker page with the date we read it. Missing data stays “not published”.

    Compare boards →
  3. 3

    Check the rules

    Height, area and boundary limits decide whether you need approval, and barriers start at a 600 mm drop in England and 1 m in Australia.

    Planning permission →
  4. 4

    Ask for quotes

    Makers rarely publish prices, so put your quotes into the cost calculator. A missing price makes the total “Partial”, never zero.

    Cost calculator →
Cost guides

What decking costs per m², installed

UK prices

United Kingdom (BestBuilders, September 2026)

Softwood£80 to £140
Hardwood£140 to £220
Composite£120 to £220

Other 2026 guides run higher for hardwood and composite. VAT status is not stated.

Australia (What’s The Damage, October 2026)

Treated pine$180 to $350
Merbau$300 to $550
Composite, mid-range$280 to $700
Aluminium$600 to $1,000

GST is not stated. Compare more guides.

These are third-party estimates, not maker prices. Most manufacturers don’t publish them, so the calculators leave prices for you to fill in.

Before you build

Rules that change the plan

England30 cm

Decking above this height normally needs planning permission. Guarding is expected above a 600 mm drop.

Read the rules
UK steps150 to 220 mm

Rise for a private stair in Approved Document K (2013), with a going of 220 to 300 mm.

Steps guide
NSW25 m²

Exempt-development ceiling, with a floor no more than 1 m above ground and 900 mm from the boundary.

Build a deck
NCC 20221 m barrier

Where a fall of 1 m or more is possible, a deck barrier must be at least 1 m high with openings under 125 mm.

Stairs and barriers
Calculators

Measure once. Order the right amount.

Rows, boards, joists, clips and cost per m², with every formula printed under the result. A missing price is never counted as zero: the total says Partial instead.

Open the calculator

Quick answers

Questions people ask first

Short answers from our guides, each linked to the page with the sources.

How many boards do I need for a 5 by 4 m deck?

30 boards of 5.4 m with 10 percent waste, using 137 mm boards, a 5 mm gap and 13 joists at 450 mm centres. The calculator prints every step so you can check it. Read more

Do I need planning permission for decking in England?

Decking more than 30 cm above the ground normally needs it, and guarding is expected above a 600 mm drop. Wales and Scotland have their own rules. Read more

Can you paint composite decking?

Makers mostly say it needs no paint, and one seller says painting voids the warranty. Ask your maker in writing before you start. Read more

Does composite decking get hot?

Dark colours do. ModWood says a board in full sun runs 20 to 25 degrees above the air temperature, and Futurewood says dark boards can run 20 or more above. Read more

What screws should I use near a pool or the coast?

For timber decks, WoodSolutions requires stainless steel fixings within 1 m of a pool edge or within 1 km of the coast. Composite boards use the maker’s own clips or screws. Read more

Is merbau cheaper than composite?

The cost guides overlap: merbau $220 to $550 per m² installed and mid-range composite $200 to $700 in Australia. Your quotes decide, so enter them in the calculator. Read more

How we work

Independent, dated and honest about gaps

Sources on every page

Specs come from manufacturer pages, standards bodies and official guidance, each with the date we read it. Retailer and seller claims are labelled as theirs.

No invented numbers

If a maker doesn’t publish a spacing, slip rating or price, the page says “not published”. We don’t estimate safety figures.

Nobody pays to rank

Suppliers and brands are listed A to Z, and listing is free. Affiliate links aren’t active, and we’ll disclose any before they are.

Conflicts shown, not hidden

When two sources disagree, for example on acclimatisation time or board gaps, both are shown with their sources so you can ask the maker.

Methodology · Editorial policy · Sources · Affiliate disclosure

Brands

Brand pages built on verified data

Teosad is an independent guide. We do not sell decking, and we do not give engineering approval. Methodology · Affiliate disclosure