What does a composite decking kit include?
A kit bundles boards, joists and fixings for a fixed size. The three we could read in full:
| Kit | Size | Contents | Price | Per m² |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| eDecks Castle Top Oak, solid composite | 3.6 by 3.6 m | 24 boards of 3.6 m, 15 composite joists (60 by 40 mm), fixings pack | £1,642.44 inc VAT | about £126.73 |
| eDecks Bowness Brown Habitat+ (clearance) | about 13 m² | timber joists 100 by 47 mm, fixings pack; board count not stated | £930.44 inc VAT | about £71.57 |
| Savoy Timber Value kit, Charcoal | 4 by 3 m | 20 boards of 4 m, 40 end caps, timber framing 97 by 47 mm, starter clips, composite clips and screws | £708.92, down from £961.15; VAT not stated | about £59.08 |
The Castle Top kit’s area (12.96 m²) and the Savoy kit’s area (12 m²) are worked out from their dimensions, because the pages don’t state square metres. The Castle Top kit has a 15 year warranty; its clips aren’t in the pack and an end clip is sold separately at £0.46. On the Bowness kit, end clips, trim and spacers are separate, and the joists are timber despite the title. Savoy says all fittings and fixings are included.
What should you check before buying a kit?
- Joist centres. Millboard allows 400 mm, Composite Prime 300 mm. A kit’s joist count has to match your board maker’s limit.
- What’s missing. End clips, fascia or trim, spacers, joist tape and end caps are often extra.
- Coverage. “Covers 12 m²” may or may not include the gap and waste; recount with the calculator.
- Fit with your deck. A kit is a set size, so a deck that doesn’t match it means cutting boards or buying extras.
How do kits compare with buying separately?
Per m², the three kits above are £59 to £127. Boards alone on our prices page work out at £39 to £66 per m², before the frame and fixings. Add the frame and fixings to those and you get a like-for-like comparison. Listing prices change, and the Bowness kit is a clearance line.
Where do aluminium and plastic frame kits fit?
Those are covered in frames and joists.
Questions
What is in a composite decking kit?
Boards, joists and a fixings pack, sized to a set deck. The three kits we read include between 20 and 24 boards, with timber or composite joists, and some leave out end clips, trim and spacers.
How big are decking kits?
The ones we found are 3.6 by 3.6 m (about 13 m²) and 4 by 3 m (12 m²). Retailers often sell several kit sizes, so check the board count and the joist centres, not just the area.
Do kits include the frame?
Often as joists, not as a full frame. eDecks' Castle Top kit includes 15 composite joists of 60 by 40 mm; the Bowness kit comes with 100 by 47 mm timber joists even though its title says composite joists; Savoy's includes timber framing and clips.
Sources
- Castle Top Oak Solid Composite Decking Kit (3.6m x 3.6m) - eDecks
- Bowness Brown Alchemy Habitat+ Composite Decking Kit (3.6m x 3.6m) - eDecks
- Value Composite Decking Kit With Timber Subframe 4.0m x 3.0m - Charcoal - Savoy Timber
- HD Deck Pro Fitting Guide and Composite Prime Care & Maintenance Guidelines (Taylor Maxwell, 2022)
- Millboard Installation and User Guide (hosted by Cladco)